GOP Delegate Profiles

18 May

GOP Delegate Profiles

The Ohio delegation is not uniform on divisive social issues such as abortion. But University of Akron political scientist John C. Green said its members may be more likely to adopt a “live and let live” attitude toward these issues, because of their pragmatic desire to continue what he called “a big wave of success at the state level.”

He noted that this year, state Republicans want to build on 1994, when they won four seats in the House and one in the Senate that were formerly held by Democrats.

Ohio was part of “Big Ten Tuesday,” a quartet of primaries in the Great Lakes region held March 19. Bob Dole won the state with 66.4 percent of the vote and carried each of the congressional districts, thereby capturing all 67 delegates. “On an organizational level, this is Bob Dole country,” said Green.

The delegation will be chaired by Gov. George V. Voinovich,Lunettes Ray Ban, who also headed the state contingent in Houston in 1992.

A figure with proven bipartisan appeal — he served previously as mayor of mainly Democratic Cleveland and won a second term as governor in 1994 with 72 percent of the vote — Voinovich was on many lists of prospective vice presidential running mates for Dole.

But few of Ohio’s other nationally known politicians are attending as delegates. Rep. John A. Boehner, the House Republican Conference chairman, is the only member of Congress from Ohio who is a Republican delegate, although other members are expected to be in San Diego for convention-related activities. Former Rep. Delbert L. Latta (1959-89) is also a delegate.

The delegation does include state officials such as Lt. Gov. Nancy Hollister, Attorney General Betty Montgomery, Treasurer J. Kenneth Blackwell, Auditor James M. Petro, Secretary of State Bob Taft,Oakley Occhiali Da Sole In Vendita, state Senate President Stanley J. Aronoff and state House Speaker Jo Ann Davidson.

Legislators attending as delegates also include state Sens. Karen Gillmor (who is married to 5th District Rep. Paul E. Gillmor), Janet Howard, Richard H. Finan and Grace L. Drake and state Reps. Jacquelyn K. O’Brien,Ray Ban Clubmaster, J. Donald Mottley, William E. Thompson, Randall Gardner, Jon D. Myers, Thomas W. Johnson and Raymond E. Sines.

Other delegates include Columbus Mayor Gregory S. Lashutka and Hamilton County Prosecutor Joseph T. Deters. Several members of the governor’s family will be in San Diego. His wife, Janet K. Voinovich, and sister, Karen M. Voinovich, are delegates; another sister, Christine Voinovich, is an alternate.
Related articles:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: